Meal planning

I do consider myself very fortunate in having the time and the opportunity to shop locally and our weekly market, although a shadow of its former self, is my main venue.I just popped in at the end and was delighted to find that fruit&veg man Keith still had some splendid Romanesco cauliflowers on his stall.

Keith is not a grower: he gets his stuff from a wholesaler  and sells it at rock bottom prices. (This cauli, which weighed over 5lbs, cost £1.60.)

Some of his goods are  slightly the worse for wear i.e a bit jaded or blemished, and need using quickly. (Not this cauli which was probably an over-stock.)

That's fine by me because I like  using stuff that's not prime quality  or has been rejected for one reason or another. It's cheap and perfectly good to use if you know how. And it won't go to waste. I reckon I'll get at least three meals out of this monster, including the leaves and stalks - with some left over for the  dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.