11/11

Got myself some more keyring bling in the shape of an RBL key fob, which is in the shape of a pound coin so you can use it in trolleys that need a pound coin.

Incidentally, the old round pound coins still work in those trolleys.

I was out buying some more butter, some whipping cream and a can of squirty cream (all vegan). Some of it is to make my traditional chocolate cake, which I’ve been unable to successfully veganise before. But new egg replacers are appearing all the time, such as Crackd, so I thought I’d give it a go.

I’ve had success making fluffy American-style pancakes with Crackd, so I’m hopeful the cake will turn out ok.

The pancakes are only American style because I leave out the sugar and use self-raising flour instead of plain flour plus raising agents. They typically get slathered in what I call a blueberry compote, maple syrup and squirty cream. Delicious!

Anyone watching Masterchef: The Professionals? Have you counted how many times new judge Anna Haugh says ‘delicious’ in a single episode? I’m getting more and more semantically saturated with each episode.

The other vegan dairy products are for a Black Forest cake for the day of the Germanicana, when the Bucs play in Germany. I got some German beer and stuff for other German recipes, too. I found a web page with a load of veganised German food. I won’t be making all of it.

I’m thinking of going daaahn the Legion this evening. It seems the right thing to do.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.