The last few yards of the Stroudwater canal

I ventured down to Saul Junction on the Gloucester to Sharpness canal while I was driving nearby. I stopped by a bridge from which I then took this picture looking back in an easterly direction towards Stroud.

I wanted to see this stretch of water which is all that remains of the original Stroudwater Canal. There is now funding for the renovation of the last stretch of canal to link Stroud back to Saul Junction, and thus to the national inland waterway network. The big barrier is the M5 motorway, but there is a solution using the parallel River Frome's passage way beneath the motorway. Hopefully it will be completed within a couple of years, with National Lottery funding in place, and then canal boats will sail on this stretch once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.