(Un)forgotten

Poem of the Forgotten 
I came to this place
a young man green and lonely.
Well quit of the world,
I framed a house of moss and timber,
called it a home,
and sat in the warm evenings
singing to myself as a man sings
when he knows there is
no one to hear.
I made my bed under the shadow
of leaves, and awoke
in the first snow of autumn,
filled with silence.
–By John Haines


Mild and windy we decided to do a walk around the lake. The colours were incredible - I've added a few extras which will be vanishing shortly. Conditions under foot were extremely wet but we both managed to stay upright. The grass was orangey blond and the light shimmering - mostly!  The little building is probably an old herdsman's cabin though maybe it was once a dwelling house for on the aerial map you can see what looks like a plot of land around it. It has saved us more than once with a bit of shelter for there is not a tree for miles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.