Glasgow City Centre

I’m very rarely in Glasgow these days, today was the exception. After spending the morning at the church ‘Preparing for Christmas’ craft event I had a bit of a wander as I made my way back to the subway. I had forgotten just how many people make a regular visit to the city centre on a Saturday afternoon.

In St Enoch Square work has begun on the building of the Christmas rides and stalls but George Square, which has a much larger area, will have to wait till next week after the Remembrance Service at the Glasgow Cenotaph which was built to commemorate Glaswegians killed in the First World War. It was unveiled in 1924 by Field Marshall Earl Haig.

Looking forward to The Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance from The Albert Hall. It’s always a very moving occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.