Rescue hens

I went to Wigan today, to rescue some hens.
Lucky Hens rescue battery chickens when they are about to be sent for slaughter. This happens when they are only two years old, as they don’t lay quite so many eggs and are therefore deemed to be too expensive to keep.
They are in rather a poor state, with a lot of feathers missing, although they are a good weight and haven’t been starved. They have collected 500 this time and are trying to rehome them all!
They are very quiet to handle as they have had no experience of normal life in a henhouse, and don’t know how to interact with other hens , or people.
I have partitioned off some of the house for them until they settle in and get a bit stronger. 
I have rescued three, and I showed them to Wendy on my phone. She has named them Pingo, Apple and Tufty! (See extras). We shall see how they gradually progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.