Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Well Hello There!

It was another warm day here today - probably our last for a while? It'll be getting down close to freezing tonight - and then not warming up much tomorrow, they say. But anyway - this guy was discovered by The Husband out near his workshop. He carried him in for me to look at because his shell has a considerable crack in it. He thought I needed to take him over the mountain to The Wildlife Center maybe. But I pronounced him okay. It appears to me that though his shell was definitely broken rather badly at some point, he has survived and the shell is now healed. Not pretty, but adequate. You can't see it very well in this shot, sadly. The crack is quite evident, but entirely stable - so I said "we'll just put him back where he was and let him get on about his life." You can see part of the crack in the thumbnail. I hope he gets himself nestled down under some dead leaves and stuff before it gets sharply colder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.