Windmill 'Rijn en Zon', Utrecht

'Rijn en Zon' = 'Rhine and Sun'.  'Rijn' does sound like 'Rhine'.
The windmill was, however, not named after the river Rhine, a tributary of which is flowing nearby (but nowhere near this windmill, anyway), but after Lord Rhine and Lord Sonnenberg, two aristocrats who built the previous windmill on this spot in 1745.  This is not a renovated version of that one but a much newer mill, built in 1913, so just over a century old.  The extra shot will show you the whole thing.

'Utrecht' is NOT 'YU-trecht' and also NOT 'OO-trecht' but a much tighter sound closer to 'eu' as in 'fleur'.  We don't say 'flyeur' but just 'fleur', and so it's the same with 'Utrecht', just a bit more 'closed'.

Having done a lot the past few days, I did relatively little today -- just some supermarket errands before I went hunting, and then gaming and post-processing when I got back.  I don't know if it is the cold that is making me feel very tired, although I do suspect it's part of it.  Or maybe it's the autumn blues?  Well, not with today's weather.  My only mistake today was that I left a little bit too late, but I think I caught the right kind of light.  What I do feel at the moment is that a large amount of stress has lifted, so now I'm kind of 'allowed' to feel tired.

I am thankful for the hunt because it keeps my adrenaline up during the day.  After four consecutive hunts, though, it looks like I'll stay home tomorrow.  I can't say the same for Monday.  It will be another sunny day, and I would like to take advantage of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.