Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

The Malvern Hills

I had a very enjoyable day trip today to Birmingham and Great Malvern (and couldn't believe my luck when I woke up to such beautiful weather!)

I got a train from Birmingham New Street to Great Malvern and had a wonderful time climbing up the hills, which felt more like mountain-climbing to me on such a hot day! It's always embarrassing when you have to pass people sitting on benches when climbing up, trying to look like you are really fit and capable of climbing hills with no effort at all, hoping they won't hear you puffing!) It took me about 30/40 minutes to get to the Beacon at the top. The views were quite spectacular, you can see for miles (a bit hazy in the distance in this shot though), so I sat there for a while enjoying the scenery.

I'd have liked to have climbed the other hills there too, it would be a great place to stay, but had to get my train back to Birmingham. I had time for a wander around Birmingham though and sat by the canal for a while in the evening sun before back to Moor Street for my 25 pence (Evening Standard offer) train home journey home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.