Remembering Great Uncle Jimmy

Every year on Remembrance Sunday I think I should be in the church in Tatsfield in Surrey where my Great Uncle Jimmy's name is read out.  But I'm a long way away from Surrey and I was in Tatsfield last month so the next best thing is to go to my local Remembrance service and remember my Gran's baby brother who died in 1944 age 25 in Italy
We were blessed with superb weather in the churchyard of the little church on the top of the hill at the end of Helsington Barrows. There is no war memorial but the Commonwealth war grave here was a fitting substitute .  And the church has a post WWI inspired mural inside ( see the link) .  Considering the tiny rural villages represented by this church I was surprised how long the list of fallen service men was.  I'm guessing there was little employment at the time and all the farm workers signed  up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.