Learning every day...

I had always thought this was a Christmas Cactus  (Schlumgera bridgesti) flowered early, but apparently it is a Thangsgiving Cactus (Schlumgera truncata) which is flowering right on time !


It is, whatever it is, spectacular this year as my first extra photo further illustrates , giving the whole thing.


My second records what I think will be the very late last cut of the lawn for this year.  The first was towards the end of April, though we have cut in March before. 


The grass is still growing and the only thing that prevents me cutting it more often at this time are the conditions underfoot which means there are parts I wouldn't take the tractor onto and even on the better parts there is the risk of mud.  

We are now cutting in eight or nine months of the year but when we came to this house thirty years ago we were only cutting in seven and it was a bit drier.   

A clear domestic sign of global warming. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.