Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Fernleigh Track

The Fernleigh Track is a cycling/walking path along the former rail line between Adamstown and Belmont.   In 1922, the Fernleigh Colliery was established and the rail line serviced the colliery.  There was a passenger service too which closed in 1991 but I have to say I never knew about that even though I was living in Newy at the time.   There is a race now called the Fernleigh 15 (foot race not cycle) which is well patronised.  The track is around 15 km which is where the name for the race comes from.   Mind you,  mamils who cycle in the morning often treat the track as a race track much to annoyance of walkers.  

It is very popular but I needed either a cyclist or walker or in this case a jogger to come through the Fernleigh tunnel so I could get a silhouette for Heanku's challenge today.   It was a bit like buses.  I had to lurk around in the tunnel for ages and there were only a few passers by.  Once I left of course there was a deluge.  Hey ho.  

And to give you the other view of the tunnel, I have put one up in the extra.

Thanks for hosting Heanku.

Oh and I have been meaning to say the concert the other night was excellent.  It was in an old church which was lit only by candles.  (And in the interest of health and safety sadly they were battery operated ones).   A string quartet playing the 4 seasons.  The violinists were excellent. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.