Rodents rule

By squirk

Girls on film

A few weeks ago, Nicola Quilter sent an email to her customers asking if any ladies would like to appear in a promotional film. Today was the day of the shoot. As I walked up the road in Hampstead, I heard someone say "I know where you're going." I turned to see a lady wearing a Nicola Quilter skirt. I, too, was wearing one of Nicola's creations. We arrived together at the bar where 100 ladies wearing Nicola Quilter skirts were waiting patiently for the cue for action. There were several husbands and boyfriends looking a bit awkward on the periphery. One commented that it was a marvellous marketing opportunity for Nicola for all of us ladies were oohing and aahing over the various designs. My covet list is now massive! Unfortunately, some of the skirts (like the one I wore) are designs that Nicola no longer makes. Nicola herself wore an absolutely gorgeous skirt that was one of her first. We begged her to make more of those.

The filming was for the final scene of a short film: a man is followed by a lady wearing a Nicola Quilter skirt. More than slightly unnerved, he turns a corner into a mews where there are 100 skirted ladies walking towards him. Finally, he returns home only to discover that his girlfriend is modelling one of Nicola's marvellous skirts.

Before shooting, the ladies placed handbags in Alexander's car. We joked that a car thief's eyes would pop out of his head if he spotted this vehicle once all 100 bags had been crammed inside.

There were several attempts to get the shots right and we had to remember where we'd started each time. The conversations all around were similar to this: "Where's the lady with the red feathered skirt?" "I was behind the short London scene." " I remember the lady with the wintry robin skirt being in front." "The two tulip skirts were to the right of me." We all figured it out eventually. Nicola was enthusiastic with her golden megaphone.

At the end of the shoot, she shouted "pressie time!" and called out each of our names for us to collect a bag containing a specially selected skirt to the applause of the other ladies. I'm extremely happy with my red feather skirt. It's one I wouldn't have chosen, but it's really lovely. My new-found friend (the lady who first approached me on the way to the shoot) got the skirt she really wanted, so she was really chuffed. So, a new experience, a new friend and a new skirt. What more could you want of a Bank Holiday?

Lastly, I have to share the unintentional pun I made because I was quite proud of it. Fleur and I are probably not in any of the official photos because, as I pointed out, we were on the outskirts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.