Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Birds and more

Wow...today was a really good day for bird visitors!   I haven't seen too many except the chickadees, titmouse and the doves (they must have told all the neighbors there was new food here and there were 10 or more).  However, I did not get any photos of them but the other visitors had me at the window.     

A bluebird family was checking out the boxes again..much fluttering and swooping and chattering.  I kept snapping and was so happy I caught the male in flight and his shadow!   

I did fix the upside down one (bad squirrels!), then the resident wren was really making noise and trying to guard the house...I guess he and the missus had already checked  it out for later. (Did I tell you he flew in the house twice last week when it was warm!  I manage to send him back out!)    While I was watching the bluebird antics, the yellow pine siskin (? maybe) came to the feeder.  I got two shots and then it was gone.  But something landed on the wheelbarrow!

I think it is a dark eyed junco.   Probably the first one that I can remember actually getting a photo!     

All these birds are in the extra.   As well as a photo of the young deer that was in the yard last night.  You can just barely see his little horns coming out so I know it is this year's fawn at about 5 months old.  There were others in the yard also...three more young and a large doe.  So glad to see them hanging around.  I filled up the corn feeder today so maybe they will come in the daylight.  

No luck for my hunting hubby yet.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.