Found Art

Someone coming across this hanging in my house might think it was made by my son as a child and kept around by us as a nostalgic memento. Such things can be found in the house, but this is not one of them. 

A dictionary defines "folk art" as "the traditional decorative or utilitarian art of the people that is often an expression of community life and is distinguished from academic or self-conscious or cosmopolitan expression."

I think this piece is certainly free of cosmopolitan expression, anyway. In fairness, there wasn't much lying around near at hand when I made it. And I happened to be sitting in front of it when I realized I still had to post something tonight. So there it is. This may well be the amount of effort I have to put into my posts over the next few days, which I expect will be busy and will certainly involve coming home late. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.