Paladian

By Paladian

Frivolous

At least more frivolous than the storm damage reported the other day.  A lot of people are still without power, but thankfully, we seem to have survived more or less unscathed.

I prevailed upon the Rower to take these images for me, as he rather sportingly agreed to accompany me to a lecture on the Lord Mayor's Ball of 1897.  Also included was a (very dry) dissertation on the fashion of the day.  Note to self - try to avoid this particular lecturer in future. She is very knowledgeable, but, gosh she makes it sound boring.

The gowns on display made it worthwhile for me, and the piano playing made it worthwhile for the Rower.  The young man who played is writing his PhD. on the Colonial music of Adelaide, so it was actually a lot of fun hearing some Victorian music composed by South Australians.

More costume in extras.

N.B. I was so inspired that I went to our local Op-Shop and bought a bedspread that I KNOW will make a great Victorian outfit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.