Dava Moor rainbow

Another back blip (and you need to see yesterday's for context
)Up early to be on a bus at 5.40 am to take us to Grantown for the start of our race at 7.30 (the bus could have left a bit later, there was plenty of time!).
The run started with a circuit in the Anagach Woods, fortunately I didn't get lost as we did on the Speyside Way last year. A short stop for some food just before leaving the woods and then through the town and onto the Dava Way on the old railway. 
From there we followed the railway northwards, sometimes on it, sometimes on paths beside it, up to its summit (1050m) and then down to near Forres.
At the summit, 11miles in, I was wondering how I'd manage another 20+ but this rainbow developed ahead and lifted the spirits (and required several photo stops!). It was lovely running down the gentle gradients on mainly good surfaces across Dava Moor, and the halfway point was passed in under 4 hours. Then on and over the viaduct in yesterday's blip and a refuelling stop a miles or so later, still feeling not too bad.
However, at about 22 miles my right leg started ceasing up and I found I had to walk short sections to ease it - unless there was an uphill bit where it was fine. (Fortunately there was a section where we left the railway and had to go up into the woods so that helped).
I was able to walk quite briskly when I had to and got to the next checkpoint where we left the railway for the final section. More walking but then I started passing people - and there was some uphill - so managed to get up the final hill to the tower and run down it again to the finish.
I hadn't been sure I could do it but that was nearly 52K (32+miles) completed - shattered but happy to be there.
A few more pics in extras - if they'll load, the connection is deteriorating

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.