Pink

The sky is changeable and darkening, making the pink from the dogwood blooms seem deeper and more intense. This old tree is near the magnolia, now leafing out after a magnificent display earlier in the spring. My parents planted them when I was a toddler, the pink dogwood is my favorite. It took terrible hits during the last winter storms, but even the cracked and broken branches are bursting with blooms.

I filled the feeders this morning and the heavy humid air is filled with birdsong . I saw the male hummer again this morning, he's very timid and doesn't seem to spend long enough near the feeders to even feed. I've been watching closely and hoping he likes the looks of the territory Mr. Sharpie has left to him. Blaze chipmunk was busy packing his cheeks and dashing to his burrow, filling his pantries and starting all over again.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny, but a weather system is moving in with bands of showers, downpours and my dreaded enemy, humidity. High dew points ruin my summer days with hot flashes and sweaty dampness, never ending discomfort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.