RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Windows

Triple-glazed windows for a whole house are very expensive. Choosing the supplier then the windows then poring over the drawings checking everything is correct has been stressful. I can't afford any mistakes. 

I discovered earlier this week that the manufacturing timescale for the windows has slipped by 4-6 weeks and will delay the whole house completion because the architect didn't answer the window supplier's emails about dimensions and other specs. Sadly, I am not surprised. But today we are there. These are this evening's emails:

17:28 from the window company to me copied to the architect and the builder: The contract shall be issued shortly along with the associated invoice.

18:21 from the window company to me copied to the the architect and the builder: Please find attached your Contract. (This image is 10 of its 16 pages.) This is a final opportunity to make any amendments should you require any. Please check all details are otherwise correct, should you have any queries please get in touch. If you’re happy, please send a signed copy of the contract, along with a confirmation once your invoice payment has been made. After the contract has been signed, along with the associated payment being made, your order shall be put into production. Changes to the order from this point onwards will no longer be possible. 

So there I was, on my own, either having to sign off drawings that I don't fully understand or, if I don't, delaying the build even further. 
I couldn't face it. I decided to go to band practice in the pouring rain instead of looking at the drawings. 

But...

19:28 from builder to everyone: Will check dimensions one final time on site tomorrow. 

20:47 (during band practice) from me to builder: Thank you. This is feeling like a big thing for me to sign off.

21:19 from builder: Don't worry. It is mega and is what we're paid for. 

The relief! At close to midnight that has given me the confidence to print off the revised drawings and compare them with the plans. I like my builder.

Edit at 1am: I have identified all the things I am unsure of and everyone will have my questions in their inbox in the morning. Or in the case of my builder, now, probably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.