An Indoor Blip Day

It has rained pretty much all day again today..so I was confined to barracks for a blip. I discovered a new technique to create images for focus stacking..which is of interest to me as my macro lens has stopped working with my R6 focus stacking function!!

Normally for a focus stack the camera remains fixed (e.g. on a tripod) and a series of images created with the focus moved slightly between each shot (either manually or using the inbuilt camera function)..the images are then blended (in Photoshop or other software) to produce the final image.

This ‘new’ technique is different - the camera is handheld and the focus is fixed. The camera shutter is set to ‘burst’ or continuous firing and the shutter is pressed while the camera/lens is moved slowly backwards or forwards, keeping the subject in the frame (easier said than done). In theory you will capture a whole series of shots with different bits in focus to then blend in PhotoShop.

I found these old cobnuts in my ‘useful’ box…so I set them up to have a go.

Not too shabby…one or two ‘soft’ spots, but I am amazed that the software was able to align the handheld shots before blending.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.