OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Waxwing

I have been putting out apples for a few weeks without any waxwings visiting. It's thought that this may be a good waxwing year with large flocks in Scandinavia on the move. About 6 or so have been seen in Orkney so far and others in the Highlands. This morning I threw back the curtains and this bird was busy feeding. Maybe lucky that it had its back to me and I was able to fetch a camera and get a few shots, even if only through the double-glazing. Later, I went out to Brodgar in the rain and high winds and got lots of snipe as well as my first Slavonian grebe of the season. It was too far for a shot but there is an extra of some snipe. Also about- a pair of ravens, pr gadwall, wigeon, goldeneye, fieldares, redwing etc   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.