Heel

I went up Leith Walk (on a number 16! All the way!) to re-up with coffee, but it really was a horrible day of pissing rain and a couple of photos I took were dreary in the extreme. There was a juvenile cormorant on the Water of Leith looking......"cho fliuch ri sgarbh" as the Gaelic saying goes. Mr H went up town to donate a pint of his delicious blood.

In the evening I retired to the sofa and continued with the latest daft project - I had somehow never knitted a pair of socks  and was curious to see how turning a heel worked. Found some wonderfully concise and straightforward instructions in my old Odhams Knitting Encyclopedia. There's no publishing date in it, so I did a bit of rummaging on the interwebs and found it was probably around 1956. I also found the entire book in scanned form in the internet archive !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.