Trees

CKay - Anya Mmiri ft. PinkPantheress

Had a nice day off and saw Black Panther: Zealand’s Forever. I really enjoyed it at Imax despite it not starting Chadwick Boseman. I like the characters (great performances all around but Angela Bassett ruled the screen) and seeing them just being on screen was enough for me. I didn’t expect to cry so deeply but the themes of home, identity, family and belonging to “a bigger picture” feel so deep in both the Black Panther films. I have to say that the plot in this wasn’t particularly tight with a lot of questionable motivations and MCU inserts for franchise building but what the Black Panther films have over the other MCU films is the attention to cultural detail. It so refreshing to watch, the costumes and set design are so alive and beautiful, I love it. The soundtracks are total fire and I love hearing dance music from South Africa, Afro House, Gqom and Mzansi. It’s got heart and soul with a driving rhythm. It’s relaxing yet energetic and dance-y at the same time.

Had dinner with my wife after work, had paella. She likes Spanish food and so do I. She went crazy over the Christmas tree set up. I’m not a big Christmas fan up until the actual day where I’m overwhelmed with emotion for my family and friends. The commercial build up is not for me, but happy to see the Mrs happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.