On The Road

First things first.

01.30 -- the Court session began.  However, we were not first on the list.
03.50 -- After two other cases, ours began.

This is the first time I have witnessed a court battle for real.  Even only through the 'lens' of a video conference, during which I could not see either solicitor, I could hear the cannon and the guns, as both the Viking and the other one verbally exchanged blows.  It was the intention to conduct further cross examination today.  Every blow delivered by our side was blocked by an objection from the other side.  'But this is a cross-examination!  If you keep objecting to my questions, that means you have something to hide!' roared the Viking across the courtroom.  The judge even reprimanded the other defense for continually obstructing the proceedings.  (To be fair, her foul mood already began with the first court case, where the solicitor tried to conduct his cross-ex from the car because he failed to make his appearance due to traffic pile-ups.)  The sound of it all was made worse by the fact that the microphone in the courthouse 'echoed', so that every verbal attack sounded in treble.  At the end of the hour-long ordeal, I was just as tired.  Before I could finally retire, though, some phone calls between here and MNL.

06.00 (or thereabouts) -- I finally went to bed.
09.30 -- Rudely woken up by a phone call from the Viking, who completely forgot the fact that I had just had a late night.  Never mind, we talked for a few minutes, during which I pretended I was as awake as he was.  Went back to bed, and AW got up.
13.00 -- I finally got out of bed.

In the afternoon, while having a much-delayed breakfast, I broke down and told AW that no one, not even he, had ever fought for me the way the Viking did during this latest hearing.  We are pushing through with our plans.  With the documents I sent now in his hands, there should be no threat of a delay.

And now the second part, which made the day more surreal.

16.00 -- Gubs, our courier friend, phoned.  To be exact, he phoned me instead of AW, so I was sure something was afoot.  We are not as thick as thieves as he is with AW.

In short, could I drive over to Wakefield, in the UK, to deliver a parcel, a machine spare part, which the customer needed to have by 'tomorrow'?  I ran down to AW -- 'Should I go?'  AW:  'That's up to you!'  So I said 'Yes' to Gubs.  

17.45 -- Gubs arrived at the house, with the parcel.  He promised the other party they would have it 'in 12 hours'.   He'd booked and paid for my car tickets on the Eurostar.
16.10 -- After a tight squeeze with AW, I was off with the precious parcel but also my wallet, passport, phone, camera, chargers, laptop.  Forgot to put in a change of clothes, but as what I had on was good as new, a little hand-done laundry would be enough.
21.40 -- Despite a spot of traffic close to Antwerp, arrived ahead of time at Calais.  A very quick toilet stop, and then down to the double immigration (a silent curtsey to Henry V of Agincourt fame for starting this tradition).  Horror of horrors, only one immigration booth for either country was open.  Result -- I missed the 22.20 train.
23.20 -- Safely and rather tighly packed in the train, we headed off.  My WiFi was gone, but I could text with AW and Gubs.  They were updated the whole time.
23.50 EU time = 22.50 UK time -- Arrived at Dover and disembarked.

Had I ever driven on the left side of the road?  No.
Had I ever driven in the UK at all?  No.
Thankfully, it was late at night, so traffic was at a minimum.  I quickly got into the swing of things, and discovered that the M20 was partly under construction on the route I needed.  Phoned AW and told him I could turn back and try the M2 near Canterbury.  He'd been here before.  Good idea, he said, so ended up in the back roads between Dover and Folkestone.  Reached Canterbury and knew I needed the M2, so asked a local for directions.  He thought I was a delivery guy working till midnight!  Very funny, but he gave me very clear directions, which I followed.  By this time, it was close to midnight or just after, can't recall.

Discovered the M2 was partly under construction where I needed to be.  Tried to continue on the A2, that was also partly broken up.  Stopped and asked a crane operator how I could reach the M25.  By this time, Gubs was also worried I would not make it.  I will find a way, I reassured him.  Finally hit the M25 and ended up in the London Orbital, the A406.  I could not use my navigation as I had no WiFi, so after 1.5 rounds on the Orbital, I ended up at a McD, and got clear instructions there again.  Then I needed to fill up, and while I was paying for it, I asked for directions to the M1.  A very kind, generous Polish driver told me to follow him in his van as he was headed for Nottingham.  I'd already memorized the route to Wakefield, so I agreed.  Again, there was a road block somewhere but he knew how to go around that, and when he could see that we were both on the M1 and well on the way to Luton, he could take off, which he did.  Eternally grateful to him.

I will end this journal entry here, because the rest of the adventure is for the next day.  Of course, it is typical for the Ellaphant to find herself in a situation like this.  What else has it been?  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.