Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Preparing for a Cold Night

The Leonid meteor shower reached its maximum rate this morning, but thick cloud precluded trying to capture any events.  However, tomorrow morning is due to be clear and the best time to see any meteors is just before dawn when the constellation of Leo is at its highest.

I needed to prepare and one of the things you have to be careful about is your lens fogging up in the cold conditions.  I bought myself a couple of options; two gel hand warmers, activated by a metal clicker in the pouch and a lens wrap powered by a USB charger.  I hadn't done anything like this for some time so I made sure that the lens wrap was working before packing up the gear for an early start.

Will let you know how I got on tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.