Run

After breakfast I went with Django to pick up the newspaper and visit Mum. Unfortunately she spent 15 minutes looking at the paper dismissing everything as not interesting to read, and wanted me to take it away as a "waste of paper". So, I won't be buying any more newspapers for her. 

On leaving the care home, I started a run along the old railway, but gave up taking it seriously after 5km (in 24 minutes) when I had to go back 30m to persuade Django to stop playing with two other dogs and follow me! By then we were at Rosewell, from where there's no direct bus back to Penicuik, so we continued to Bonnyrigg. I was still running, and at a good pace, but no longer expecting to keep going continuously. Uncertain of whether I could complete a loop of Turf zones in Bonnyrigg before the next bus back, I just kept going. Once at Eskbank, I knew I wasn't far from some attractive woodland, so decided to get the bus back from Dalkeith. Once on the edge of Dalkeith, I was so close to Dalkeith Country Park that it seemed careless not to head for it!

The sun broke through just as we arrived at the Country Park, and I took a photo of the sunlit Montagu Bridge against dark skies. Collecting the Park's Turf zones took us right around it, and as we headed for the exit it began drizzling. However, the sun came out and, seeing the rainbow, I managed a sprint over to take this view of the Montagu Bridge! I didn't have long before the next bus back to Penicuik, so I managed a final sprint out of the park and up the high street. I think we were both glad to stop and get on a bus! 

Once again I'm struck by a dog's unwavering faith in just following without knowing where it's heading, how far it's going, or for how long! It's quite touching when I think about it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.