Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Wishful thinking

I remember how excited I was the first time I saw oranges growing on trees. It was from a train window as we travelled from Genoa to Rome on 1978! Sadly, these were not on the west coast of Italy but in that rather cold barn of a garden centre, known as Dobbies, Dunfermline!
We dropped Joyce off on town to watch the rugby in the pub with a friend. Free from hospitality duties, we thought we'd have a look and see what was available by way of azaleas as a gift for somebody next month. The selection wasn't great though, we're a little early I think.
There were several different varieties of fruiting citrus on display. One of my favourite things is to press the skin with my nail to release the wonderful scent. I refrained this time, I'm not sure Dobbies would have been too happy with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.