Wood Duck!!!

Now, I know that American blippers are unlikely to be excited by the sight of a wood duck but I most certainly am! They are not native to the UK and a sighting is a real treat! 

I read on social media yesterday that a solitary wood duck had been spotted on a pond only four miles away. Of course, I had to go off in search of him - I'm not sure I've seen one before and certainly not outside such places as St James' Park in London. He likes to hide under trees that overhang the water, so it took a while to spot him. I enjoyed the hunt, though, and was thrilled when he briefly moved out into open water where the sun was helping to create some delicious reflections from the surrounding trees. He kept me (and a few other photographers) well entertained for as long as I chose to follow his movements.

I'm seriously struggling to pick a main image, so I've added three extras. 

As things currently stand, my favourite is the first extra because I love his pose and the rippled reflections. I suspect Blip won't show him as I see him, though, so I've gone for the head shot of him amongst the trees. Do look large and at the extras, if you have time (& inclination :)). I'll forgive you, if you are less excited than I am :))

Squirrel in my b&w journal

Thanks very much for everything for yesterday's fleeing deer!

Ann

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.