lovelife209

By mindful_life

Noticing what’s already there…

Moments after I took this photo, the geese in the distance took flight, it was lovely to see. The sun was shining for my run this morning which was quite chilly, but wow what a beautiful morning.

Half marathon 49 of the year done and 3 more to go. I’ll actually be quite pleased when they are finished so I can change things a little more next year.

This afternoon I practiced a long meditation which was lovely. I felt quite sleepy but managed to bring focus back when I noticed I was drifting off. That’s what meditation is about. Bringing attention back to focus when you notice you have wandered onto thoughts and it doesn’t matter how many times you have to do it, over and over again. It strengthens the connections in the brain and over time quietens the part of our brain that become active when we aren’t focusing. The default mode network. The ‘thinking’ part, the rumination over what we have done, the thinking about what we have to do.

Today I have been contemplating the beginners mind. Trying to notice things as they are as though never seen before. We miss so much when we are on autopilot, stuck in our heads. Approaching things with a beginners mind can completely transform our experience. I urge you to try…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.