Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

The Last Leg

Alfriston to Firle Beacon and return via Alciston: 10.5 miles.

The Jolly Boys outing for May 2013 would soon to draw to a close. Normality would resume within 24 hours and it'd be time to head home to reunite with the family. But before that, the views from Firle Beacon had to be savoured.

Bank holiday Monday was, in a break from tradition, another fine sunny one, although the mist was thick at 7am. Whilst waiting for one of us to return from a morning visit to Eastbourne, we headed into Alfriston for a few souvenirs, ice cream and drinks for the walkers.

I was keen to get started, since after today's walk, I had all my gear to pack away into the car and a tent to collapse, before heading for home. The route is about 6 miles said Geoff confidently. OK, it's about 12:30, so we'll be back by 15:30, so I'll be away by 17:00. No problem.

Today's picture was taken after completing the rise from Alfriston onto the Downs, whilst waiting for Bonnie to have a drink. Two of us walkers were being impatient as you can see. By the way, Bonnie the wonder dog, Yorkshire Terrier, 14 years old, walked about 35 of the 40 miles this weekend!!!

Eventually, Firle Beacon did not disappoint. Absolutely unimpeded 360 degree views of the downs and surrounding countryside. If you're in the neighbourhood, I'd recommend it for the views alone. It turned out that the walk was 10 miles, not 6, took 2 hours longer than planned as a result and I arrived home late, after battling with the bank holiday traffic.

I wouldn't have missed it if I had the chance again though. The arrival of Fred Jellybean is going to put a stop to the next outing for me at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.