Textures

Pete and I started the day by going to Notcutt's to fetch some bird seed and a new squirrel-proof feeder. It was rather cool and damp, but not too bad for November so I then headed off to Collyweston Great Wood to see if I could find any Winter Chanterelles.

I may have chosen the wrong direction as the rain was significantly heavier when I arrived at the site. Nevertheless, I continued with my walk in the hope that it would ease up. It didn't, and although there were some interesting fungi, I gradually become wet through and  ended up having to put my camera in a plastic bag. The final indignity came when I fell on a shallow bank covered with a deep layer of Beech leaves, that was hiding some very slippery mud! Luckily it was a soft  but damp landing. I never found the chanterelles, but was impressed by this magnificent Hoof Fungus, the subtle stripes of grey and brown toning well with the birch bark and the autumn leaves.

I think this blip marks eleven years of blipping though it's taken me a little over twelve years to achieve. Following hot on the heels of my 4000th blipday, I don't really have anything additional to say. I'm just glad I have Blipfoto in my life and very grateful to all those hard-working people who keep it running smoothly and all those of you who still look at my blips. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.