HappyCamper71

By HappyCamper71

Day #10 - Santa Barbara - Los Angeles

Back in 1988, as a teenager living in a small Staffordshire town, I had a part time job working at the local cinema.
One night a new movie was screened… it was Beaches… and I was immediately captivated by both the emotional storyline, but also by ‘The Divine Miss M’…. Bette Midler.
As every fan will know, the opening sequence is shot at The Hollywood Bowl, where Bette is rehearsing for her upcoming concert when she gets passed a note to say that her lifelong friend Hillary is seriously ill, and thus the classic tale of friendship begins.
I remember thinking how much I would love to be able to see that place one day…. And that possibility seemed like a total impossibility….. But, today I stood at an overlook point and stared down The Hollywood Bowl…. I also stood on incredible beaches watching the waves crashing… and I felt like I had achieved a lifelong wish.
Corny I know… but very true!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.