TINY COLLIE

The Tiny Tuesday theme is Ornaments/Memorabilia set by davidc.  Ive chosen to feature a little ornament of a rough collie dog. ( Its a poor shot - I found it really tricky to get a clear image )  If I remember correctly I bought it in around 1970 in Woolworths ... good old Woolies.  It was my favourite shop back then and I used to go regularly in my lunch hour when I worked in Newcastle  This little ornament is not fine china by any stretch of the imagination but its precious to me as it brings back memories of when and where I bought it - and also memories of my own rough collie Tara.

I got her in 1971 after reading an advert in the classified section of the local evening paper. Looking back it seems a crazy way to buy a dog.  I hadn't seen her, knew nothing about the breeder ( who was based in Hertfordshire ) etc but I sent a cheque off in the post and bought a puppy. When she was ready to come to me at around 12 weeks old she was put on a train in a crate to make the journey north.  We got a telegram to say she was at Newcastle Central station.  Luckily my Dad wasn't at work that day ( he was on night shift ) so he drove to the station to pick her up.  She was waiting for me at home when I got in from work that evening. 

Her Kennel Club name was Skipline Golden Era but I called her Tara.  Coincidentally she was born on 7th June - same day as me.  She was a beautiful dog and much loved by all the family.

It was a milder day today - but the rain returned.  Fortunately it had stopped by the time I went out to the village.  Usual shopping in Herons and Tesco.  Lots of my regular purchases have gone up in price - even since last week.

Steps today - 6,806

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.