JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 253

As I ran west along the beach towards Leith I was wondering if I would find a deflated football floundering in the surf to link my blip today to the retirement of Sir Alex Ferguson as legendary Manager of MUFC yesterday. I was not expecting to find a full scale match in progress with some very little footballers being put through their paces in front of one of the Beach Amusement Arcades. I am sure Sir Alex would have approved. Whatever you think of football, the money and the amoral activities in which so many of the so called stars engage , you cannot detract from the longevity, tenacity and brilliant leadership skills of Sir Alex Ferguson. Among the many tributes circulating about Sir Alex at this time the theme that strikes the loudest chord with me is the fact that many cite him as a man of his word, a man who replies to e-mails and texts and a man who does many kind things without thinking of himself, or what others will think about what he has done, hoping that such deeds of kindness and humanity would remain unheralded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.