A Northern Visitor

I am exploring all options available to me on the  hearing aid front at the moment which is why I found myself up aloft in Boots this morning for yet another hearing test which confirms  that I seem to be about half deaf on their scale.

So far I have discovered that Hidden Hearing would provide me with state of the art aids for £5000. The NHS will provide basic ones for free, while Boots say they can give me ones which would suit my hearing loss for £3000. The NHS ones are battery operated while the other ones are rechargeable. 
I managed to escape Boots for the moment after saying I needed to think about it.

Then it was time to meet my Stromness Singing  Selkie friend and  have something to eat. We decided, or rather I decided, to take her to John Lewis and ‘The Place To Eat’ café. We rode the escalator 5 floors up to be told that not only was it shut but so were  all the other eateries in John Lewis. Broken boiler it seems, so back down 5 floors to think again. 
We ended up in ‘Coffee Saints’ beside St Mary’s RC Cathedral and had very tasty bowls of soup, blessed by the Saints no doubt.

With an hour to spare before she had to get to the airport for her flight home, she opted for a visit to the Dower House before waving me good bye. It was lovely to see her.


Now I have to think hearing aids…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.