Conwy, Irish Sea

The start of my 4 days off! I wasn't too sure what to do, but it's easy enough to entertain yourself exploring when you've just moved to an area and the weather's as good as it is.
After a relaxing breakfast I headed over to the centre to see if anyone was heading coastwards, and as luck would have it the maintenance man Paul was, so I popped a bike in the van and headed off with him. Cycled off to Conwy, an amazing walled city with a castle that looks over the river estuary to Llandudno and the Great Orme beyond. Full of holidaying old people, and everyone was very friendly.

Locked my bike up, got some (expensive) bread and cheese from the Spar, and then walked the town walls. It was very easy to imagine the place as a medieval town.

After lunch on the harbour front and a staring contest with a seagull, I headed off on the bike round the cost. Beautiful, until I rounded the headland towards Penmaenmawr, where upon the weather turned, the wind got up, and the sky and land alike turned grey. I turned around after consulting the map and deciding that there was nothing of interest for a long while, and being sandwiched between the main A-road and the railway wasn't great for tranquillity and views.

Back in Conwy the weather was still good, and I headed on the B roads back to Betws. Beautiful cycle past cottages and farms, beekeepers and secluded glens. The sun continued to shine all the way home.

In this photo you can see the Great Orme, where I took a photo a week or so ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.