WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Infuriating

It was chucking it down when I set off to Lidl to buy supplies for my charity cake stall. But as I drove back, the rain stopped, the sun came out, the raindrops sparkled, the colours glowed against the dark sky. So I pulled over at a suitable spot, and in the time it took me to get the camera out and cross the road to get a view, the clouds rolled over the sun, and it started to rain. I can assure you it looked more spectacular than this just seconds earlier. Tiny bit better in large!

Following a tip-off, I had instructed S to call in at Grand Frais when he was in Narbonne yesterday, and buy some undyed smoked haddock (hitherto a thing that did not exist in France to my knowledge). He bought the only pack they had, so today I made kedgeree for lunch for the first time in decades. It was so delicious! Made to the Delia Smith recipe published in the Evening Standard circa 1975, and which I used to make regularly when I was a student -- using kippers because they were cheaper. I hope it was not just a one-off and we can find it again.

Gym this evening, we mostly did biceps and triceps. Goodbye flabby arms :) And now a glass of wine and a little tapa of kedgeree by the fire. Very satisfying.

In other news, RIP Wilko Johnson. I was a fan of his in my student days too. There's a nice interview with him from 2013, when he was diagnosed with cancer and thought he would be dead within a year. He was a tough cookie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.