occhi verdi

By occhiverdi

Cheers to Cherry

I baked a cherry pie today. I actually baked two, but for this one I made the pie crust from scratch so this pie counts more. (Used chilled vodka in place of most of the water to decrease the gluten in the dough… yay science!)

I have been avoiding making this pie since my dad died almost four years ago. Has it really been three and a half years already? He made me a cherry pie for my birthday every year (and Thanksgiving. And Christmas. And if I came home for the weekend.) I have missed this pie so much. And I finally did it. It’s not a difficult filling to make. I guess I was intimidated by the making-the-pie-crust from-scratch bit even though Dad never made his own pie crust. He would just pour the filling into the nearest ready-made Pillsbury pie crust. He could whip up multiple pies in mere minutes. And boy did he.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.