"Over the River and Through the Woods..."

"...to grandmother's house we go", a song I learn in elementary school about Thanksgiving Day.  This is a digital painting I did of my grandmother's childhood home in Salt Point, NY.  She was born in this house in 1890.   I visited it a few years ago.  My cousin is still running the farm.  It has been in our family as a working farm since 1798.  Many will be going to grandmother's house today as Thanksgiving Day draws people home.  I will be having a "Friendsgiving" this year.  The cheesecake is made and the corn casserole will soon be in the oven.  I may not be going home but I will certainly be thinking of Thanksgivings past in our home in Hudson with family gathered all around and, of course, my brother.  This song came to mind this morning, one of my favorites.  To those who are gathering today, Happy Thanksgiving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.