A Golden Afternoon Along Spring Creek

My best guy invited me out for a Bellefonte library lunch date. The Bookmobile doesn't come by the fruit farm anymore (first it broke down, then Jacob - our driver - took another job), and so we have been forced to fend for ourselves as far as books go. On this day, we decided to take matters into our own hands, and go get some books!

The lunch date would involve visiting the Centre County Library (where I got to meet an axolotl! - you may see it in the extras!) and then picking up take-out lunch at Jim's, a chef's salad and cottage fries, which we would eat while sitting in the sun at Governor's Park.

But the first thing we did was to head to Buffalo Run Park, where my husband would jog and I'd walk around taking pictures. Just as we got there, a huge blue heron took off overhead, and I got some bizarre and awkward photos of it (maybe this is why blue herons, in general, avoid me: no glory here, only embarrassment and humiliation!).

So we did the walk/jog thing, we picked up our fine lunch at Jim's, we ate it at Governor's Park, we went to the library, and then we stopped along Spring Creek afterwards so my husband could dive into his first book (the sack of books we picked up weighed about 40 pounds; no joking!) while I walked around taking pictures.

In this photo, you may see one of the many golden and glorious views along Spring Creek on this gorgeous sunny November afternoon. For it was a fine, fine walk along the edges, and the reflections were fabulous, as always. Another beautiful day!

I've got two soundtrack songs. One is for the still-running water which is so lovely for reflections photos there: Emmylou Harris, with Beneath Still Waters. The other is for the charming axolotl who was named by children during a contest; guess what it's called: Axl Prose! And so the song for the axolotl is this one: Guns N' Proses, oops, I mean Roses, with Sweet Child O' Mine.

Me: Axolotl! Axolotl! Axolotl!
Husband: STOP that! You just like saying axolotl!
Me: Well, I could axolittle or I could axolottle!!! HA HA HA HA HA!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.