serpent

By serpentine

Mahonia beaten by the storms

I much preferred the old name of berberis beleae - it rolls off the tongue so easily.  I hurried in to get my camera when I saw a large bumble bee visiting but of course I was too late...

The storms have been incredible and the garden is a bog - had a long drive on the M5 in the storm last night with lightning adding to the terror.  Not nice.

I have more paperwork for the holly tree in the background than I have for the house - the entire estate has a tree preservation order since it was built  - it should be 50 years old or more by now but has had a chequered history.  One occupant cut it down and got fined £6000 and had to replace it.  Happily they put it to the end of the garden instead of in the middle as the old one had been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.