Experiment

This is an experiment. I've got a new lens (RF 100-500) with a 1.4x extender on it. It was a very dreich day and as you can see it was very high ISO and a remarkably slow shutter speed. This was handheld.
I'm impressed with the image stabilisation at such slow speeds.

I've had to do some noise reduction and sharpening in post to get the best out of the image but I'm really curious as to your thoughts on the quality overall of the image. Like all these things people have mixed opinions about the quality of the lens combo ranging from superb to awful.

For those technically-minded, this new lens combo loses me a little under 1.5 stops of light compared to my 'normal' 600mm set up (from f5.6 to f10) which means higher ISO's most of the time - perhaps more of a problem during a Scottish winter :). 
We will see how it fairs over the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.