Belfast at night (and I just made it...)

 I was meant to fly to Belfast at lunchtime today but the Flybe service to Belfast City Airport   was cancelled by the company  - not an uncommon occurrence apparently.  

The reason for going was to be the invited keynote speaker at an"Ireland's Future" event in the Ulster Hall, which was booked out with a thousand people capacity crowd.

After the cancellation the  only possible way to make it in time from Glendaruel was to trust to the 7.10  Easy Jet flight to Belfast International , and a fast car to get me to the venue just in time to speak.

Amazingly it worked, and I was on my feet about 20 minutes after going through the Ulster Hall stage door.    It was a great and receptive audience, and of course the contemporary relevance, given the Supreme Court judgement that day, was obvious to all. 

As an added and unexpected bonus the room booked for me for the night was on the 21st floor of the Grand Central, which meant I also had this amazing view, featuring not just the City Hall but also (if you look closely) the Christmas market beside it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.