A new book

My mum's 94th birthday today. I saw her yesterday and so I phoned her today with birthday wishes and asked if she was up to going out for a coffee or anything but she wanted to stay home. Wise when it was horrible weather - grey and very windy and rain due later. 
I started this book today. I had intended to get a few photos while out and about but I didn't remember to take any. I walked from home to the gym to use the walk as the cardio before the weights. Before leaving home I had optimistically pegged out all the washing. I knew rain was due at 1pm but it was very windy so i reasoned that the washing would dry in an hour or so. I had timed the walk to the gym and how long I'd be in there in order to get home (by bus) before 1pm.
Plans do not always work out!
I missed the bus or it came early or maybe it never arrived but anyway, I had a long wait at the bus stop and since the timetable had been removed from its casing I wondered if that was an omen that the bus times are guesswork!
It started to spit a bit before the bus came and while on the bus on my way home it came on harder. The walk from the bus stop to our house  was interesting in torrential rain and a gale - I nearly took off a few times ha ha.
I got all the washing in but by the time I finished not only the washing was soaked but so was I. I dumped it all in the utility area and got some dry clothes on then had lunch and started this new book. I lingered a little over lunch to read a bit longer.
I have rinsed and spun all the washing again (to keep it fresh) and it sits in the machine waiting to see what tomorrow brings! I can't recall the last day it didn't rain.
Did very little in the afternoon - tried a nap but didn't nod off for long. I am not motivated when it's miserable, wet and dark in the daytime. I wish I could get out in the garden though as there are a lot of jobs stacking up there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.