Combi31

By Combi31

Deciding on dinner ...

Today has been one of those days, Blipwise - where there just seemed to be lots of wildlife about but totally hidden.

See it Larger

I heard wild boar, scarily close to my hide, snuffling around and even brushing clumsily against the side of the hide. I think I saw a pair of golden orioles, who scooted off into the dense forest before I could get a shot.
I saw some other birds about the size of a woodpecker, that I have never seen, a peachy orange color - don't know what they were though.
The purple herons and the black-crowned night heron were there, but I daren't blip them again. I saw a pair of, what I strongly suspect to be goshawks flying at breakneck speed, while hunting along the treetops.

So after many near misses - here is a group of red kites, just deciding on what they are having for dinner.
Earlier they were attacking a pair of seagulls and bothering the nesting buzzards.

I had a look for the collective noun for a group of kites and apparently, according to Wiki : As kites are not a sociable animal there has been no need to come up with a term for a group of them.

I beg to differ, they can be seen here in groups of 12 and more and seem very sociable, using their numbers when hunting, to their advantage - these 5 seem to contradict the assertions of Wiki, at least.

I was going to go out for the dawn chorus, but believed my iPhone weather app - I shouldn't have ... it said that we were to have a misty and rainy morning, but it was clear and sunny - the rain came late afternoon, although it is very warm still.

I hope you had a good Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.