Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Back in the boondocks

It's been another long day, beginning in the pre-sunrise gloom as I headed out for the weekly shopping, where I managed to spend about half of what I did last week, partly because of my forgetting we'd be eating out one day and partly because at last my larder seems to be less empty than it was. (Because my main picture is so gloomy, I'm adding an extra of the supermarket car park before I went in...)

So what did I do? I'm always a tad slow getting going after that shopping trip - breakfast takes a while, and I'd a few odds and ends to sort, and then there was coffee. But after that I set to and made the Christmas cake and popped it in the oven, timers set to ensure that I took the foil off and lowered the temperature after the first hour.Then I had an online Vestry meeting at 3pm, popping off in the middle to take the cake out of the oven, and after that I went for a walk with Himself that finished in an errand to the Health Shop. That's when I took the blip - the sky had cleared and the torrential rain ceased, but there was a chill wind blowing up the Firth and the lights on the Other Side looked very small and distant. I've used this photo because of the incongruous contrast with yesterday's blip, taken at roughly the same time but light years away in terms of human development.

When we got in I suddenly remembered I hadn't made the family calendar yet, so spent some time hurriedly putting that together - I find that as the grands get older there are fewer nice photos of them to use. Then I had to do my Italian (it's tough, staying in the Diamond League) and my physio exercises before making dinner and pouring the sherry drained from the dried fruit over the cake as it cooled. I'm vaguely dissatisfied with the sermon I wrote on Monday - I need to find time to sit down with it again. 

Watched the penultimate episode of this series of Babylon Berlin - it's ramping up the tension again. Not very soothing ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.