RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Looking at the stars

The electrician is due to start on site next week and has asked me about lighting. I haven't a clue - my 3D imagination is feeble and I simply cannot imagine this house finished, still less with electric lights in. So at today's site meeting I asked if I could climb the ladder to upstairs to put myself in such rooms are are already there and think about how the lighting should look. It helped a little. (It also helped me think about how furniture will/(won't) fit into a front bedroom that has been shrunk by interior insulation - I will no longer be able to have a long workbench running along the window wall opposite the foot of the bed. But I will still be able to fit the bed in.)

Far, far more exciting than trying to imagine beds or electric lighting was going into the to-be-bathroom. I hate not having natural light in a room and the bathroom, in the middle of the house, was designed to have none. Three months ago I said I'd pay extra for a skylight and when the design came back a month ago it was a miserable, unthought thing with a small square tunnel seemingly placed at random, casting light on nothing in particular. I asked the builder to change the tunnel so that when I lie in the bath I'll be able to see the stars. 

Until I walked into the bathroom space I had no idea the skylight had even been delivered to the site, let alone that they'd fitted it, and I absolutely hadn't expected it to be this monumental. The skylight is much higher in the roof than I'd imagined and the builders have made a huge frame for it - a base the size of the bath and above it a pyramid whose top is sliced off for the glass. I think it will be beautiful. Even the architect was impressed. 

He did himself proud today. When I said I needed help with lighting he allocated an hour this afternoon for us to go through the plans and look at photographs of possibilities. That's how I want an architect to be supporting me. I just hope he gets the revised drawing to me in time for the electrician to plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.