They heard it too ....

I had a fairly busy afternoon today - first a visit to the dentist and then straight on to a three hour session of invigilation at the local school. The exam was Higher Accounting and I felt a bit sorry for the pupils as the school's heating is off and by the time 4 pm came I was certainly feeling chilled, so I expect they were too.

I had walked the dogs fairly early this morning and was about to attempt a 'posing' photo of them both at the gate when their heads turned simultaneously - as did mine - to hear the iconic sound of the cuckoo drifting across the valley towards us. I was thrilled as I had almost given up hope of hearing one this year so this shot is a perfect reminder in my journal. The substantial gate gives access to the moor which is protected by high deer fencing to allow the young trees planted here a fair chance of survival. The reason I was going for a shot here was that I wanted to show off the new spruce Bruce following his spring haircut yesterday and it is one place where I can rely on them to stay patiently waiting for me to let them through.

I am off north to Aberdeenshire for a few days to stay with one of my sisters-in-law so while i hope to post a blip while i am there I will undoubtedly be short on comments as we will be too busy blethering and practicing our sketching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.