Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Knitting

I wanted a jacket in the colours of Merlin - found a suitable yarn, and started it. Well it is 4ply and on 3.25mm needles, so it doesn't grow very quickly. Yesterday I took this pic of Merlin and the knitting so far  - just for something a bit different.
Today I visited my friend and the subject of knitting came up - as it often does. Now, my friend will admit that she is not ‘a knitter’ - she can knit and does produce nice things - but very slowly! Last time I went we looked at a book of patterns and there is a jumper she has knitted before and has the yarn for another and intends to start it soon. She mentioned she also had the yarn for a coat but hesitates over starting it … when would she finish it?
You know what’s coming next - of course, I offered to knit it for her! 
Off we went into her studio where we found the yarns for both garments  - the plastic bag the wool for the coat was in disintegrated as we picked it up  - it had been there a very long time!!!! But it is fine - the studio is dry and moth-free so I am starting it - the swatch is pictured  in ‘extras’. It is a lovely colour, chunky wool and 6mm needles - shouldn’t take long,  but it is constructed rather differently and it finishes up with the whole garment on the needles at the final cast off - ideal for cold winter evenings - my lap and legs will be warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.