The second half of life..

By twigs

Slug Bug

A morning watching paint dry England v USA from the FIFA World Cup.  My sis had exactly the same reaction to me at the end.......'that's 90 minutes of my life I'll never get back'!  I feel slightly bad bagging just one of the teams as they both seemed to be almost as lacklustre as each other.  The USA at least showed some occasional spark.  England though, looked more like they were playing not to lose rather than playing to win.  After the full-on excitement of the recent Women's World Rugby Cup, this was a match that was very boring by comparison.  Sorry England, but you'll need to be a lot more positive to keep this fan entertained.

The rest of the day was spent in the garden - a little re-potting here, a little straightening of the railway sleepers there, a lot of deadheading/trimming/pulling everywhere and a nice cool drink to finish.  It was when I had repotted something and needed a saucer to sit the new pot in that I found this chap.  It was a pot full of nothing that had been sitting in this particular 'saucer' so I figured it didn't matter if I used the saucer elsewhere.  I lifted the full-of-nothing pot off the saucer to find this rather gross chap half curled up.  A little prod stirred him and he began to slither his way around the inside of of the saucer.  Gross to see but fascinating to watch.  I very rarely see slugs in my garden and never have I seen one this size........ he must have been 3 inches at full slither.  Not as big as the gross black giants I remember seeing in the Lake District, but plenty big enough for me, thank you.  Gross, yes, but definitely worthy of a blip!

PS Can you spot the teeny, tiny bug hitching a ride on him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.